Skip to main content

Liberal Arts Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award Honorees

Dr. Fenda Akiwumi

2016 Honorees

Dr. Fenda Akiwumi, Associate Professor at the University of South Florida.
Mr. Barney Knight, founder and practicing partner at Knight & Partneers
Marise McDermott, Witte Museum President and CEO

Dr. Tino Villanueva

2015 Honorees

Mr. Jesus "Gilbert" Rodriguez, Jr., Del Rio Welders Equipment, Inc
Dr. Randa Safady, Vice Chancellor for External Relations in the UT System 
Dr. Tino Villanueva, Nationally recognized poet 

Mr. Robert L Mooney

2014 Honorees

Ms. Deborah Tucker, Executive Director, National Center on Domestic and Sexual Violence
Mr. Robert L. Mooney, CEO, J.R. Mooney Galleries
Mr. Michael R. Young, President, Chuy's Comida Deluxe, Inc. and Partner, Glazing Saddles, Inc.

Mr. Richard Castro

2013 Honorees

Mr. Richard Owen Baish, Retired President of El Paso Nat. Gas Co.
Mr. Richard Castro, Owner/Operator, McDonald's
Ms. Diana Holt, Attorney

Verinica Gonzales

2012 Honorees

The Hon. Veronica Gonzales, Texas State Representative District 41
Mr. Del Kolbe, Partner, Paradigm Tax Group
Dr. Roger Spiller, George C. Marshall Distinguished Professor of Military History Emeritus

Mr. Kelly Freis

2011 Honorees

Dr. Light Cummins, Guy M. Brian Chair of History at Austin College and State Historian of Texas
Mr. Kelly Frels, Senior Partner, Bracewell & Giuliani
The Hon. John Sharp, Chancellor, Texas A&M University System
Dr. Melba Vasquez, Psychologist and Executive Director, Vasquez & Associates Mental Health Services



Ms. Michelle T. Brown

2010 Honorees

Ms. Michelle T. Brown, Director, Refugees International, New York, NY
Dr. Patrick Cox,President of Patrick Cox Consultants, LLC.
Mr. William Cliff Davis III, President and CEO, Davis Medical Resources, Cuero, TX
Dr. Terri LeClercq, Professor of English Emerita, The University of Texas at Austin
Mr. William Steuer, Manager, U.S. Consulate General, Johannesburg, South Africa

DAAA award

2009 Honorees

Dr. Ramiro Martinez, Jr., Associate Professor of Criminal Justice, Florida International University
Dr. Charles R. Matthews, Chancellor, Texas State University System
Dr. Jill D.E. Pruetz, Associate Professor of Anthropology, Iowa State University
Mr. E.W. Bill Wright III, First Vice President-Investment Officer, Wachovia Securities LLC; Wells Fargo

Dean Ellis and Honoree Mark Gimenez

2008 Honorees

H.S. Buddy Garcia, Chair, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Mark Gimenez, Author and Attorney
Ronald Angelo Johnson, Doctoral Candidate, Purdue University
Timothy Robert Staskus, Key Accounts Manager, Anheuser-Busch, Inc.
Mary-Agnes Taylor, Professor Emerita of English, Texas State University