Skip to Content

Award-winning faculty in Liberal Arts

Faculty in the College of Liberal Arts have won many prestigious awards for teaching, research, and service, at the national, state, and local levels.  Following is a sample of their fine honors.

Piper Professors
The prestigious Piper Professorship, given annually to one faculty member in Texas by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation, honors outstanding college teaching.

Kenneth Margerison, History, 2013
Brock Brown, Geography, 2008
Christopher Frost, Psychology, 2006
Byron Augustin, Geography, 2005
Paul Cohen, English, 2003
Michael Hennessy, English, 2001
Robert Walts, English, 1982
Clarence Schultz, Sociology, 1976
Dan Farlow, Political Science, 1975
Thomas Brasher, English, 1970
Robert Galvan, Modern Languages, 1968
Emmie Craddock, History, 1962

Regents Professors
The Texas State University System Board of Regents awards the title of Regents Professor to faculty who have distinguished themselves in three areas: teaching, research, and scholarly activity; service at the local, state and national levels; and commitment to the university.

Jesús F. de la Teja, History, 2011
David Butler, Geography, 2010
Byron Augustin, Geography, 2009

University Distinguished Professors
University Distinguished Professors are named by the Texas State University-San Marcos President. The award honors individuals whose performance in teaching, research, and service has been exemplary and recognized at the state, national, and international levels.

Carmen Westerberg, Psychology, 2015
Shirley Ogletree, Psychology, 2014
Jesús F. de la Teja, History, 2011, 2014
Robert Gorman, Political Science, 2011
David Butler, Geography, 2010
Sharon Ugalde, Modern Languages, 2010

National Endowment for the Humanities Distinguished Teaching Professors
The Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Humanities is a three-year post supported by an NEH endowment to Texas State. Distinguished Teaching Professors are reviewed and recommended by an external board of teacher-scholars and the final selection is made by the Texas State president. Each Distinguished Teaching Professor creates opportunities—lectures, seminars, courses—for Texas State’s faculty and students to engage in conversation about a theme of current interest.

Margaret Menninger, History, 2015-2018
Rebecca Raphael, Philosophy, 2012-2015
Craig Hanks, Philosophy, 2009-2012
James Housefield, Art and Design, 2006-2009
Jeff Gordon, Philosophy, 2002-2005
Robert Gorman, Political Science, 1999-2002
Paul Cohen, English, 1996-1999

Fulbright Scholars
Since 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 294,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists and professionals from the United States and more than 155 countries with the opportunity to share ideas and contribute solutions to common international concerns. The following Texas State Liberal Arts faculty have shared their expertise abroad under Fulbright grants.

William DeSoto, Political Science, 2012 Ukraine & 2005-2006 Slovak Republic
Nathan Pino, Sociology, 2009 Trinidad
Vincent Luizzi, Philosophy, 2007 South Africa
Priscilla Leder, English, 2006 Belgium & 2000 Portugal
Steve Wilson, English, 2004 Slovenia & 2002 Slovenia & 1994-95 Romania
Rebecca Bell-Metereau, English, 1999-2000 Senegal
Vicki Smith, English, 1999 Germany
Christopher Frost, Psychology, 1996 Romania
Clifford Ronan, English, 1995-96 Poland
Robert Randolph (ret.), English, 1994 Greece
Scott Slovic, English, 1993-94 Japan
Robert Salisbury, History, 1986-87 France
Roque Mendez, Psychology, 1985-86, Mexico
Charles Carlisle, Modern Languages, 1984-85, Paraguay
Paul Cohen, English, 1974-75 Ireland

National Council on Geographic Education
Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients

The Distinguished Teaching Award is given annually by the NCGE to a college or university professor nationwide who has demonstrated excellence in teaching geography.  Three Texas State professors won the award in 2012, an unprecedented event.

Ronald Hagelman, 2012
Yongmei Lu, 2012
Kevin Romig, 2012
Jo Beth Oestreich, 2009
Richard Dixon, 2006
Byron Augustin, 2005 and 1984
Denise Blanchard-Boehm, 2004
Michael Solem, 2003
Richard Earl, 2002
Frederick Day, 2001
James Kimmel, 2000
Fred Shelley, 1999
David Butler, 1997
Dennis Fitzsimons, 1996
Robert Larsen, 1995
Brock Brown, 1993
Richard Boehm, 1985
James Petersen, 1982