Skip to Content

Honors, Awards, Chairs and Professorships Available to Faculty

Piper Professors

Fifteen awards are made annually to professors across Texas for superior teaching at the college level. Awards are made to nominees submitted by each college or university in the State of Texas. Application by invitation only, based on the recommendation of the nominating University. See a list of Piper Professors from the College of Liberal Arts.

Application Information / Form

The Everette Swinney Faculty Senate Awards for Teaching Excellence

Each year three faculty selected by Texas State as potential nominees for the Piper Award (see above) receive the Everette Swinney Faculty Senate Excellence in Teaching Award.

Application Information / Form (See Article VII.)

Presidential Awards

The Texas State Faculty Awards Program makes selections annually for Presidential Awards recognizing Excellence in Service, Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities, and Excellence in Teaching. Awards at both the Professor/Associate Professor and Assistant Professor/Lecturer levels honor superior service and models of excellence and inspire faculty to develop and improve scholarly/creative activities, teaching skills, and service. 

Nomination / Application Date

Nomination packets due to Dean’s office on the second Friday in February.

Application Information / Form (scroll to PPS 6.11)

Presidential Seminar

The Presidential Seminar highlights and recognizes superlative research, creative work, or other scholarly efforts undertaken by Texas State University faculty members. Projects are to be in process or completed within the last two years. The person selected to deliver the Presidential Seminar will present his/her work to the University community and be recognized for significant accomplishments.

Nomination / Application Date

November 15

Application Information / Form (scroll to PPS 6.11)


Distinguished Professor Emeritus

 The title of Distinguished Professor Emeritus is awarded only to extraordinary faculty members who are retiring or who have already retired to recognize their exemplary service to Texas State. Because of the special nature of this designation, normally no more than three individuals will be named as Distinguished Professor Emeritus in any year. In many years, no such recognition may be given (see PPS 6.01).

Nomination / Application Date

Fall semester of nominee’s last full year of teaching

Application Information / Form (scroll to PPS 6.01)

Alumni Teaching Award

Through this award, the Texas State Alumni Association recognizes, encourages, and rewards superior Texas State classroom teachers. Texas State professors, lecturers, associate professors, assistant professors, and instructors are eligible.

Nomination / Application Date

March 1

Application Information / Form
Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Humanities

This three-year professorship, supported in part by the National Endowment for the Humanities, offers the opportunity for its holder to engage in projects that promote the humanities at Texas State and surrounding communities. Dr. Robert T. Tally, Jr., associate professor of English, holds this position until 2021. Click Here for more information on the current Distinguished Teaching Professor, Dr. Robert T. Tally, Jr., English.

Additional Information and to apply

Contact Dr. Nancy Grayson, Associate Dean of Liberal Arts,, (512) 245-2317.

Jesse H. Jones Distinguished Chair in Geographic Education

This endowed chair, the only one in Geographic Education in the nation, is currently held by Dr. Richard G. Boehm.

Additional Information

Hobby Chair in Public Service

This endowed chair is held by Dr. Howard Balanoff, Director of the William P. Hobby Center for Public Service.

Additional Information

Jones Professorship in Southwestern Studies

As part of a National Endowment for the Humanities Challenge Grant, the Houston Endowment funded the Jesse H. and Mary Gibbs Jones Professor of Southwestern Studies. The Jones Professor of Southwestern Studies team-teaches the Southwestern Studies courses with the Director of the Center for the Study of the Southwest, works with Center publications, helps organize and present symposia, and assists the Center with other regional projects related to the professor’s discipline and the Center’s designation as the Southwest Regional Humanities Center.

Additional Information


Jerome H. and Catherine E. Supple Professorship in Southwestern Studies

This endowed chair is held by Dr. Frank de la Teja, Director of the Southwest Regional Humanities Center and the Center for the Study of the Southwest.

Additional Information about the Centers

Mariel Muir Mentoring Award

The awards will be given to persons who provide exceptional support of and show exceptional commitment to assisting less experienced individuals in becoming more proficient in professional activities. The awardees will be recognized as role models in providing advice, guidance, and information which fosters the growth and development of co-workers and/or students. Two awards will be presented each year, one to a faculty member and one to a staff member.

Nomination / Application Date

Faculty nominees forwarded to Dean by January 30

Application Information / Form

Dean’s Golden Apples and Excellence Awards

Each year the Dean of Liberal Arts distributes awards to recognize and encourage Liberal Arts faculty for their achievements in scholarly / creative activities, teaching, and service. Golden Apples are awarded to faculty who are nominated for Presidential Awards (see above) and receive the highest votes at Liberal Arts Council during the nominating process.