Skip to Content

Liberal Arts Council Minutes

26 March 2008, 2:00 pm, FH 313
(Approved by Liberal Arts Council online, 28 March 2008)

Presiding: Dean Ann Marie Ellis
Recording: Associate Dean Daniel Lochman
Council Members: Frank Barrios, Vicki Brittain, Mark Busby, Susan Day, Frank de la Teja, Nancy Grayson, Michael Hennessy, Vince Luizzi, Jon McGee, Philip Suckling
Guest: Paul Hart

1. LAC minutes of meeting on 3-19-08 reviewed and approved (Jones Professor interviews, student awards, program learning outcomes for General Education courses)

2. Congratulations To Nathan Pino (SOCI), who has been awarded a Fulbright Fellowship to teach and conduct research in Trinidad and Tobago during Spring 2009. (b) To Yongmei Lu (GEO), honored as a recipient of the Texas State Student Foundation’s “Foundation of Excellence 2008 Award.” (c) To Dagoberto Gilb (ENG), whose most recent novel, The Flowers, is on the Best Seller list of the Los Angeles Times. (d) To Octavio Pimentel (ENG), designated a “namesake” to assist planners of the 2008 PAWS Preview and lead a group of incoming first-year students. (e) To Rebecca Raphael (PHIL), awarded a Junior Scholar Grant for research from the Southwestern Commission on Religious Studies. (f) To Ashly Bender, double major in English and History, and to Joseph Orbock, History, named Outstanding Undergraduate and Graduate Students in Liberal Arts, respectively. (g) To Ashly Bender again and to Preston Douglas, Psychology major, both nominees for the Spring 2008 Liberal Arts Student Commencement Speaker. (h) To MFA fiction graduate Owen Egerton, whose first novel, Marshall Hollenzer Is Driving is being made into a film, The Beautiful Letdown, with production scheduled to begin this summer. (g) To MA Literature student Clay Stevens, who presented a well-received paper in Rome at the James Joyce Italian Foundation Graduate Conference. Leading Joyce scholar Derek Attridge cited his presentation, enabled in part by the Liberal Arts Advisory Board, as one of the best among panelists who included John McCourt and Umberto Eco. (h) To Susan Peters, a doctoral student in Geography, who has been awarded the 2008 Texas Military Forces Retiree Scholarship from the National Guard Association of the Texas Education Foundation.

3. Liberal Arts in the News. The New York Times Book Review (3/16) favorably reviewed Dagoberto Gilb’s The Flowers, citing the “mesmeric” quality of the narrator’s voice.

4. Interviews of nominees for the Jones Professorship. Council completed its interviews of nominees for the Jones Professorship. The Dean also announced that Mark Busby will be recognized as the first Supple Professor on March 27 at a reception to be hosted by the President.

5. Nominations for General Education Council Representative from Liberal Arts. Dean Ellis announced that she has received two nominations for a Liberal Arts representative on General Education Council, Elizabeth Erhart (ANTH) and Sherri Mora (POSI). The Dean will arrange to have the Office of Institutional Research conduct an online poll of all Liberal Arts faculty.

6. Review of Liberal Arts proposals to add and delete courses. Dr. Lochman distributed summaries of Liberal Arts course proposals following Council’s review of course forms online. Dr. Luizzi moved to approve the proposals as presented and Dr. de la Teja seconded. Council unanimously supported the motion.

7. CAD update: Dean Ellis provided an overview of duties for new Liberal Arts student advisors and of issues related to Dean and Chair’s evaluations. She noted that chairs and faculty will soon receive an evaluation form for her as Dean, and she urged all to complete and submit their evaluations. Following her review of departmental chairs in Liberal Arts, she will forward her evaluations of them to faculty in their respective departments. She also discussed the need for administrators at all levels to consider mentoring faculty in order to ease administrative transitions.

Around the Table. Dr. Suckling reminded Council that Dr. Silvia Earle will be presenting two lectures, one for a major Common Experience event and another as Geography’s Lovell Distinguished Lecturer. Dr. de la Teja reminded Council of the Women in Texas History program, scheduled for this evening.


• Wednesday, March 26, 3:30-5, Old Main 102C: Mr. Steve Wilson (ENG) and Dr. Nathan Pino (SOCI) to lead workshop on developing Fulbright proposals; register at
• Wednesday, March 26, 5 pm: All copies of Developmental Leave applications due to the Faculty Senate office
• Wednesday, March 26, 7-9 pm: History department’s Women’s History Month Event: “Women and Popular Music: Trials and Triumphs,” Taylor-Murphy 104
• Wednesday, March 26, 8 pm, LBJSC Mall: Dr. Silvia Earle presents “Sustainable Seas”
• Thursday, March 27, 10 am, Evans: Dr. Earle to present Lovell Center Distinguished Lecture
• Friday, March 28: Deadline for departments to submit Presidential Upper Level Scholarship applications to the Dean’s office
• Friday, March 28, 3 pm, ELA 245: LA Study Abroad Council meets
• Monday, March 31: Deadline for the Dean to forward to Dr. Mayo recommendations for participants in the 2008 Multicultural Curriculum Transformation and Research Institute
• Tuesday, April 1: Deadline to submit request to use faculty-authored materials in the summer sessions (2008). For information on the approval process see
• Tuesday, April 1: Deadline for Hispanic Scholarship Consortium applications, found with information at
• Tuesday, April 1: Deadline to upload faculty vitae into TRACS folders
• Thursday, April 3, 3-4 pm, Dean’s Conference Room, FH 313: Dean’s Open Door meeting for LA staff
• Friday, April 4, 5 pm: Deadline to submit proposals for Fall 2008 and Spring 2009 University Lecturers. Information is available from the Committee chair, Janet Payne
• Friday, April 4, 9:30-11 am, Alkek 105/106: Dean Willoughby to meet with Liberal Arts graduate advisors; the Dean and chairs also may attend
• Thursday, April 10, 3-4 pm, Derrick 111: Dean’s first Open Door meeting for LA faculty
• Monday, April 14, 3-4 pm, ELA 245: Dean’s second Open Door meeting for LA faculty
• Wednesday, April 16, 2 pm, place TBA: LAC meets for budget workshop
• Saturday, April 19, 10:15 am -12:15 pm, LBJSC Ballroom: Bobcat Day
• Tuesday, April 22: Joann Cole Mitte Faculty Grant Committee forwards top three applications to the Provost; College must review proposals prior to this date
• Thursday, April 24, 6 pm, Centennial Hall Teaching Theatre: Liberal Arts Awards Ceremony
• Wednesday, April 30: Departmental decisions for faculty in second and subsequent contract years due to the Dean
• Thursday, May 1: Deadline to submit applications for NEH Fellowships. For information see
• Friday, May 9: Deadline to e-mail to two-page proposals for the two-week Technology Integration Workshop, held in August
• Friday, May 9, 9 am, Strahan: LA Commencement
• Tuesday, July 1: Deadline to submit request to use faculty-authored materials in the fall session (2008). For information on the approval process see