Skip to Content

Liberal Arts Council Minutes 2011

11 May 2011, 2:00 pm, FH 230


Presiding: Dean Ann Marie Ellis
Recording: Associate Dean Lucy Harney

Council Members: Vicki Brittain, Shirley Ogletree, Frank de la Teja, Bob Fischer, Jon McGee, Vince Luizzi, Susan Day, Mike Hennessy, Dennis Dunn, Phil Suckling, and Associate Deans Nancy Grayson and Britt Bousman

Guests: Ms. Jamie Donaldson and Dr. Catherine Jaffe

1. Congratulations: a) to Beth Erhart, who has been appointed as the next Chair of the Department of Anthropology, and b) to Miriam Williams (ENG) who will be named as Texas State’s Presidential Fellow for 2011-2012. Miriam will provide advice and counsel to President Trauth, to the President’s Cabinet, and to the University, and will participate in specific projects of importance to the University.

2. Grants: Fritz Hanselmann, Chief Underwater Archaeologist for the Department of Anthropology’s Center for Archaeological Studies/River Systems Institute, has been awarded a National Geographic Society-Waitt Institute grant to support an underwater geoarchaeological survey project assessing submerged alluvial landforms and depositional contexts at Spring Lake.

3. TRAVELTracks:

Ms. Jamie Donaldson, Budget Specialist for the College, reported to Council members regarding new online procedures for submitting travel applications and reimbursement requests using SAP. Each department will designate one staff member as a “travel assistant” who will have online access to assist faculty with the process. Faculty will be required to log on, sign their requests electronically, and submit the appropriate documentation. Staff members must receive training to be allowed access to the new system. Training is also available to interested faculty. Ms. Donaldson indicated that prospective employees will continue to be allowed to submit hard copies of requests, and that paper applications for foreign travel will be accepted until 9/1/11. Council members requested that Jamie send around usage instructions for the online system each semester to facilitate the process for faculty and staff.

Some Council members expressed concerns over the increased burden on administrative staff, while others noted that they already have staff assigned to assist with travel. Other areas of concern include the lack of a universal platform for logging on to the expanding array of online systems, the automatic payment for reimbursement overages of 10% or less, and the cumbersome requirements for conversion of international currencies. Some Council members felt that chairs and faculty lacked sufficient input as the new system was developed. Jamie will convey Council members’ suggestions and concerns during a training session on May 19. Associate Dean Britt Bousman will have the SAP travel process discussed by Texas State’s Council for Funded Research, which he chairs.

4. CAD Update:

Dean Ellis reported to Council members on the current transition to the coordination of legal services for Texas State through the Office of the Vice Chancellor and General Counsel. Once the transition is complete, legal matters will be addressed as follows:

• Vice Chancellor and General Council Fernando Gomez: Governance Law
• Attorney Diane Corley (housed in the System offices): Business Law
• Attorney (search ongoing; to be housed at Texas State): General Law

During the interim, Deans may contact Dr. Gomez to seek advice regarding legal matters, with notification to the Office of the Provost. All documents requiring legal review will be routed through the appropriate vice president to Ms. Jennifer Graham, Texas State Legal Assistant, who will refer them to our System attorneys, as appropriate.

5. Ten-year Goals/Predictions:

Dean Ellis asked chairs and directors to forward her their departmental/center goals and predictions for the next ten years by June 15, 2011.

6. LA PPS on Tenure and Promotion:

Council members reviewed and revised the Liberal Arts Policy and Procedure Statement 2.02 regarding requirements and procedures for tenure and promotion by the College. Revisions were unanimously approved and will be in effect as of September 1, 2011.

7. Thank you to Cathy Jaffe and welcome back to Bob Fischer:

Council members welcomed back Dr. Robert Fischer as chair of the Department of Modern Languages and thanked Dr. Catherine Jaffe for her service as acting chair during the past semester in his absence.

8. Other Business:

Dean Ellis recommended that chairs encourage staff who may be concerned about the exposure of private information through the Employee Retirement System of Texas to visit the ERS web site to read about their one-year offer for free security monitoring.

The meeting was adjourned.

Announcements and Reminders:

Chair/Director/Faculty Deadlines:

• June 1: SACS: Program Results, Action Plans, Evidence of Improvement due to Emily (
• June 15: Deadline for chairs/directors to convey 10-year goals/predictions to Dean Ellis
• June 17: Summer Session II PCRs due to Jamie (
• July 1: Deadline to apply to use faculty-authored materials in Fall 2011 (
• July 20: Deadline to submit proposals for NEH Humanities Collections and Reference Resource Grants (
• July 27: Deadline to apply for NSF CAREER grants (
• August 1: Application deadline for Faculty Fulbrights ( (further information: Steve Wilson
• October 17: Application deadline for Fulbright Scholar-in-Residence Program ( (further information: Steve Wilson
• November 1: Deadline to apply to use faculty-authored materials in Spring 2012 (

Liberal Arts Events:

• August 12: Summer Commencement (6 pm, Strahan)
• August 23: University Convocation and Annual General Faculty Meeting (9 a.m., Strahan)

Professional Development:

• Summer 2011 Professional Development Workshops: (
• June 20 (2:30-4:30) or June 21 (8:30-10:30): Workshop: Mobile Device Security (JCK 460) (
• July 11-20: Workshop: Creating and Teaching an Online Course (w/stipend) ( by 3/25)
• August 1-12: Workshop: Technology Integration (w/stipend) ( by 6/1)
• October 14-15: Grant Writing Workshop (


• June 1: 1st class day Summer I
• July 1: Last class day Summer I
• July 6: 1st class day Summer II
• August 5: Last class day Summer II
• August 24: 1st class day Fall Semester