Skip to Content

Liberal Arts Council Minutes 2016


Liberal Arts Council

29 June 2016, 2:00pm, FH 230


Presiding: Dean Michael Hennessy

Recording: Associate Dean Nancy Grayson


Council Members: John Davis (for Bill Kelemen), Paul Hart (for Dennis Dunn), Mary Brennan, Beth Erhart, Alberto Giordano, Craig Hanks, Chad Smith, Dan Lochman, Sherri Mora (for Ken Grasso).


Guest: Manda Anderson


1. Approve LAC minutes:


Council members unanimously approved the minutes of the Liberal Arts Council meeting of June 15, 2016.


2. Psychology program proposals (John Davis for Bill Kelemen):


Council approved curriculum changes in Psychology. Undergraduate majors may no longer minor in either Sports Psychology or Forensic Psychology. Graduate minors will take four electives instead of a currently required course plus three electives.


3. Quarterly comp time reports:


Staff who have accumulated a substantial number of FLSA overtime hours should be encouraged to take time off to reduce the number of hours. Any hours over 100 trigger automatic overtime pay, which comes from the department’s budget.


4. Staff timekeeping:


Dean Hennessy reminded chairs about meticulous records for staff time, including student workers.


5. CAD update:


Digital measures CV entry—By July 15, 2016, faculty should send CV for data entry, or report choice to go “half and half,” or report choice to enter CV themselves. Faculty who do not send CV to the Faculty Qualifications Team by 7/15 must enter it themselves. System opens August 1, 2016 for faculty to enter CVs.


Gun-free room for Liberal Arts—In response to the university’s encouraging each college to have a room that can be temporarily designated gun-free for conducting “difficult dialogues,” council recommended FH 321.


Around the table:


Alberto Giordano gave an account of a faculty member’s difficulty obtaining clearance to cite an online data source in a scholarly article.


Nancy Grayson announced that Sarah Godfrey (English) and Braiden Grogan (International Studies) have each received a four-year University Scholars Award in Liberal Arts, for incoming freshmen ($5,500 per semester). Professors Bryan Cooper (Geography) and John McKiernan-Gonzalez (History) served on the review committee.


The meeting was adjourned. (DOCX, 109 KB)