Skip to Content

Liberal Arts Council Minutes 2018

Liberal Arts Council Minutes

August 22, 2018

2:00 PM—Flowers Hall 230

Presiding: Dean Mary Brennan
Present: Council members:
Audwin Anderson, Manda Anderson, Susan Day (recording), Dr. Dunn, Beth Erhart, Angela Murphy, Dan Lochman, Aimee Roundtree, Chad Smith, Paul Hart, Craig Hanks, Bill Kelemen, Yongmei Lu, John Mckiernan-Gonzalez, Alberto Giordano, Ken Grasso, Lucy Harney

Absent: no one.

Guests: none


The minutes of 8.8.18 were unanimously approved after a motion in support by Dr. Grasso and a second by Dr. Lochman


Dean Brennan discussed additions to and changes in the College of Liberal Arts for academic year 2018-19.


The Liberal Arts Student Advisory Board being rekindled.  Dean Brennan asked each chair to send her the name of one undergraduate and one graduate student, by September 15, to be departmental representatives. She indicated that there is no GPA requirement, but she does request conscientious students who will show up for once a month on Friday for lunch and a discussion of topics.  The purpose of group is to provide feedback to the dean. 


There will be “Meet the Dean” meetings once a month.  In the spring, more specific programming for underserved students is planned, depending on hiring the right person for that task.  A research poster program is planned for the spring as well.

Faculty lunches in FH230 on Wednesday and Thursday will continue, as will fall (honoring humanities faculty) and spring (honoring the social science faculty) “happy hours.”  Because of a Sharon Ugalde suggestion, a meeting for scholars who are interested in Hispanic issues is also being planned. 


Classroom availability is an issue for Philosophy.  Their classes have 30 students, and they are under utilizing 50-seat rooms.  They will trade 50-seat rooms for smaller rooms.  The Registrar will have their own rooms to assign in the spring.  Chairs were asked to consult with Dr. Hanks.


SACS-COC program coordinator forms should be sent to Dean Brennan by August 31, 2018.  Tenured faculty are preferred coordinators.

Dean Brennan announced the hiring of Stella LoPachin hired to be the Admin III.


The Counsel celebrated of Dr. Dunn’s retirement.  In addition, the Counsel noted its appreciation of Dr. Giordano as he steps down from the chairman ship and welcomed Dr. Lu as the incoming chair of Geography.


Around the table:

Dr. Roundtree reminded the chairs tell faculty about Innovation Day and to send names of participants to her.


Dr. Giordano announced that Don Heuber is now well enough to fly back to the US from Italy.


The meeting ended at 2:49 p.m.


Minutes 8.22.2018 (DOCX, 15 KB)