Skip to Content

Liberal Arts Council Minutes 2018

Liberal Arts Council Minutes

February 21, 2018

2:00 PM—Flowers Hall 230

Presiding: Dean Mary Brennan
Present: Council members: Manda Anderson, Audwin Anderson, Susan Day (recording), Dennis Dunn, Beth Erhart, Alberto Giordano, Ken Grasso, Craig Hanks, Lucy Harney, Bill Kelemen,
John McKiernan-Gonzalez, Dan Lochman, Angela Murphy, Aimee Roundtree, Chad Smith.

Absent: No one


The minutes from 1.10.18 were unanimously approved on a motion by Dr. Grasso and a second by Dr. Lochman.


Twister Marquiss, Director of the Common Experience, introduced the 2018-19 Common Experience theme of innovation. “Innovation Week” will be the last week of September, 2018, during which departments and colleges can demonstrate their innovative activities. The LBJ Distinguished Lecture will rely on a ticketing system, although the speaker has not been selected. The common reading selection is The Runaway Species by Eagleman and Brand. He asked that faculty be informed of the theme so that events and speakers can be planned.


Dean Brennan reviewed FY19 Scholarship (funds) reports from Development (HO), as well as funds that should be spent in this academic year (FY18), which should be encumbered by 8.1.18.


Suggested changes to the COLA policy for modern language policy substitution for students with disabilities were proposed. Discussion ensued, and Dean Brennan agreed to solicit information from Disability Services about the criteria they use to make recommendations about modern language substitutions. She will bring the information to a future LAC.


Dean Brennan noted that administrators should be recording their hours when the is officially closed.


Dean Brennan noted that faculty must be more specific about the reasons they request travel funds for international travel. Ata minimum, titles of papers and purpose of the travel or conference should be included. An informational handout was distributed.


Dean Brennan indicated that she would discuss notes from meetings with tenure-track faculty at the next LAC.

Around the table:


Ms. Anderson indicated that a change in rules by the Texas State Bookstore requires students to order regalia for graduation by April 26, 2018. It is not clear whether graduating students are being notified about the change, but the Liberal Arts Advising Center is using multiple methods of telling students about the change.

Dean Brennan reminded chairs that a gun-free room exists in Flowers Hall for faculty who want to meet in such a room. Requests to use the room must be made to the Dean’s office 24 hours in advance.


Dr. Giordano announced that that is his last year as chair of Geography. A search for a new chair is being conducted.


Dean Brennan noted that Dr. Joanne Smith has asked for student nominees for the Regent’s Scholar Award. Criteria were sent to chairs by email.


Dr. Roundtree indicated that she will be issuing press releases about faculty and department accomplishments, including significant publications and awards. She asked for assistance in identifying press-release worthy items.


Dr. Lochman noted that Junot Díaz, Pulitzer Prize winner, will be at the Witliff at 3:30 p.m. Thursday (2.22.18) afternoon.


Dr. Murphy thanked chairs for their responses to her requests for advice translating faculty scholarship.


Dr. Giordano thanked chairs for their support of Film Screening and Discussion of 500 Years: Life in Resistance and, in an unrelated comment, noted continued problems with Digital Measures. Other chairs agreed. Dean Brennan asked that specific complaints to be sent to her.


Dr. McKiernan-Gonzalez noted that Tyana Steptoe will be on campus Thursday at Thursday (2.22.18) afternoon in Brazos Hall.


Captioning experts will come to LAC at a future date.


The meeting ended at 3:08.


Minutes 2.21.18 (DOCX, 17 KB)